State Library Victoria is open ANZAC Day, Thursday 25 April, from 10 am to 6 pm.

Home > Interact With Us > Scholarships Awards > Dromkeen awards > Dromkeen Medal

Dromkeen Medal

The Dromkeen Medal, initiated in 1982, is bestowed annually to an Australian resident for outstanding achievement in the creation of Australian children's and young adult literature.

The Dromkeen Medal was designed by Robert Ingpen and depicts the Dromkeen Homestead, a sickle moon and boughs of wattle. Previous Medal recipients include celebrated children's book illustrators and authors such as Alison Lester, Shaun Tan, Bronwyn Bancroft, Ruth Park, Andy Griffiths and Graeme Base. The 2017 Dromkeen Medal was awarded to Erica Wagner, publisher of Books for Children and Young Adults at Allen & Unwin, Melbourne.

2018 Medal

The 2018 Dromkeen Medal has been awarded to acclaimed Australian author John Marsden.

More information

Contact us at [email protected].