Alert

The Library is temporarily closed Read more

Home > Visit > Our magnificent spaces

Our magnificent spaces

Since we first opened our doors to the public in February 1856, the Library has grown to span an entire city block, adding all manner of reading rooms, galleries, exhibition spaces, lecture halls and venues.

The Library's name has also changed over the years, beginning with Melbourne Public Library in 1856, adding the Museum and National Gallery in 1869, and being renamed State Library of Victoria in 1960 and State Library Victoria in 2017.

Similarly, the Library's spaces have gone by many different names. Today the Library continues to evolve, with brand-new spaces such as the four Quad Quarters joining the refreshed Swanston Street Welcome Zone and the renovated historical gem that is The Ian Potter Queen's Hall.

Explore our many magnificent spaces below.