Home > Interact With Us > Scholarships Awards > Dromkeen awards

Dromkeen awards

The Dromkeen Medal is awarded for outstanding achievement in the creation of Australian children’s and young adult literature, while the Librarian's Award recognises outstanding achievement in supporting Australian children's and young adult literature.

The Dromkeen Medal and Dromkeen Librarian's Award have a distinguished history of over 30 years, with previous medal recipients including publisher Erica Wager and well-known children's book illustrators and authors such as Alison Lester, Shaun Tan, Andy Griffiths, Bronwyn Bancroft, Ruth Park and Graeme Base. Similarly distinguished names grace the list of past winners of the Librarian's Award.

2018 awards

The Dromkeen Medal has been awarded to acclaimed Australian author John Marsden.

The winner of the 2018 Dromkeen Librarian's Award is Sue Wootton, Children's Support Officer at Eastern Regional Libraries.