The Library is open Read more

Home > About Us > Scholarships & awards > The RE Ross Trust Playwrights' Script Development Awards

The RE Ross Trust Playwrights' Script Development Awards

Patricia Cornelius, far left, with fellow recipients Dan Giovannoni, Alexandra Macalister Bills and Dan Lee, and Eda Ritchie, Chair of the RE Ross Trust

The RE Ross Trust Playwrights’ Script Development Awards program came to a close at the end of 2014. State Library Victoria proudly hosted the awards for 11 years, working with the RE Ross Trust, which generously funded the program.

The awards fostered Victoria's theatre industry by helping Victorian writers to develop and enhance their scripts through workshops with a Victorian-based theatre company or group, director or dramaturg. For all of those who took part, it was an extremely fulfilling program with tangible outcomes for playwrights and industry personnel.

The RE Ross Trust is a perpetual charitable trust established in Victoria in 1970 by the will of the late Roy Everard Ross. Since its inception, the RE Ross Trust has distributed over $90 million in grants for charitable purposes in Victoria.