Current recipients: The RE Ross Trust Playwrights' Script Development Awards

Patricia Cornelius, far left, with fellow recipients Dan Giovannoni, Alexandra Macalister Bills and Dan Lee, and Eda Ritchie, Chair of the RE Ross Trust

Exploring themes of madness, redemption and a grand adventure to find a pet snake, the 2014 winners of the RE Ross Trust Playwrights’ Script Development Awards were Dan William Lee, Alexandra Macalister-Bills and Dan Giovannoni & Amelia Evans. Patricia Cornelius received a commendation.

A total of 47 plays were submitted for consideration for the 2014 awards. A new judging panel of five industry experts read and shortlisted the scripts for further discussion, based on the selection criteria of artistic merit, rationale for development and planning.

Three winning scripts and one highly commended script were chosen. In addition to receiving prize money, the winners had the opportunity to stage rehearsed readings in front of a live audience in the Flashpoint series at the State Library Victoria and fortyfivedownstairs.