Home > Digitised WWI Victorian newspapers

Digitised WWI Victorian newspapers

A major project commemorating World War I has digitised 216 WWI-era Victorian community newspapers and made them available online via the National Library of Australia’s Trove portal. Victorians everywhere can now explore the stories of their communities and family and friends who lived and fought through the Great War.

This digitised collection contains thousands of stories waiting to be found. These newspapers of the day provide, in their original format, news and public debate; letters from soldiers, sailors and nurses; death notices, images and more.

The newspapers can be freely and easily searched by anyone at anytime and anywhere, using keywords, dates or geographical regions. Our listings below link directly to digitised newspaper titles across nine Victorian regions.

The digitised newspapers cover the period 1914–19. Many soldiers were still being demobbed in 1919, and mentions of celebrations for returned soldiers can be found in papers of this time. Also, many in memoriam notices can be found in papers the year after a soldier died.

The digitisation of these newspapers has been supported by the State Library of Victoria, National Library of Australia, Public Libraries Victoria Network, local councils and historical societies.

Digitised newspapers by regions

Note, the newspapers of a number of smaller towns are contained in these regions but are not mentioned in the information below – check the Trove regional link to see if the newspaper title for the town you're looking for is included. Note also that more titles are being added to Trove over time, so continue to check back using the regional links below.


Includes Ararat, Ballan, Ballarat, Clunes, Colac, Creswick, Daylesford, Dunolly, Maldon, Maryborough, Talbot


Includes Bendigo, Castlemaine, Cohuna, Echuca, Gisborne, Inglewood, Kerang, Korong Vale, Kyneton, Lancefield, McIvor, Rochester, Rodney, Wedderburn


Includes Bairnsdale, Berwick, Briagolong, Bruthen, Foster, Glengarry, Heyfield, Korumburra, Leongatha, Maffra, Mirboo, Moe, Morwell, Omeo, Poowong, Powlett, Rosedale, Snowy River, Stratford, Tambo, Toongabbie, Toora, Trafalgar, Traralgon, Warragul, Welshpool, Yarragon


Includes Alexandra, Benalla, Broadford, Chiltern, Cobram, Corryong, Euroa, Jamieson, Mooroopna, Mount Alexander, Murchison, Myrtleford, Nagambie, Numurkah, Rutherglen, Seymour, Tallarook, Towong, Violet Town, Wangaratta, Wodonga, Yackandandah, Yea



Includes Chillingollah, Lake Boga, Mildura, Ouyen, Swan Hill, Ultima



Includes Casterton, Cressy, Derrinallum, Lismore, Merino, Normanby, Portland, Sandford, Warrnambool


Includes Camperdown, Cobden, Coleraine, Donald, Hamilton, Hopetoun, Horsham, Koroit, Mortlake, Nhill, Port Fairy, Rainbow, Rupanyup, St Arnaud, Stawell, Terang, Warracknabeal and the Wimmera