Home > What's on > Afternoon Tea & Talk

Afternoon Tea & Talk


07 October 2020, 3:00pm16 December 2020, 3:00pm
BookingsNo bookings required

You’ve listened to The Garret podcast, now tune in to our fortnightly afternoon tea and talk series with Garret host Astrid Edwards, featuring writers and authors discussing their craft. 

Wednesday 21 October

Tune in as Astrid chats to Dr Rebecca Huntley, one of Australia's foremost researchers on social trends with a background in publishing, academia and politics.

Dr Huntley holds degrees in law and film studies and a PhD in Gender Studies, and currently heads Vox Populi research as part of the CIRCA research group. She is the author of numerous books including How to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference (2020) and has written extensively for essay collections, magazines, newspapers and online publications.

She is also a broadcaster with the ABC, a podcast host and is on the board of The Bell Shakespeare Company and The Whitlam Institute.  

More about Astrid Edwards

Astrid Edwards is an interviewer, podcaster and teacher, as well as a devoted bibliophile.

Astrid is the host of Anonymous Was A Woman and The Garret: Writers on Writing, and she has interviewed more than 100 of the best writers in Australia, including Tara June Winch, Michelle de Kretser, Melissa Lucashenko, Leigh Sales, David Malouf, Maxine Beneba Clarke, Benjamin Law, Ali Cobby Eckermann, Tony Birch and Kate Grenville.

When she is not reading or talking to writers, Astrid coordinates the Associate Degree of Professional Writing and Editing at RMIT University. She also serves as the Deputy Chair of Melbourne Writers Festival, is a Member of the Victorian Disability Advisory Council advising the Minister for Disability, Ageing and Carers, and is a National Advocate for MS Australia.

Upcoming episodes

4 November: To be confirmed

18 November: Maxine Beneba Clarke

2 December: Tara June Winch, Miles Franklin winner for The Yield

16 December: Kate Mildenhall, The Mother Fault