The Library is open 10am–6pm daily | The Ian Potter Queen's Hall, Hansen Hall & some other spaces are closed Read more

Home > Interact With Us > Scholarships Awards > Margery C Ramsay Scholarship

Margery C Ramsay Scholarship

If you're employed in a Victorian public library, you can apply for a Margery C Ramsay scholarship valued at up to $20,000 to support your professional development.

The scholarship can be used for a broad range of development opportunities, including:

  • further education such as short courses in librarianship, management or leadership
  • attendance at a conference or forum
  • visiting or studying library services in Australia or overseas
  • investigating issues relevant and important to the future of Victorian public library services.

The Margery C Ramsay and Barrett Reid scholarships are awarded in alternating years. The Barrett Reid Scholarship was awarded in 2019.

2020 scholarship

Applications are now open for the Margery C Ramsay scholarship.

Guidelines, responses to frequently asked questions, an application form and a referee form are available to download at the bottom of this page.

The deadline for applications is Friday 26 June 2020.

Please email your completed application form and an accompanying referee form to Senior Program Manager Jacqui Horwood at

About Margery C Ramsay

Margery C Ramsay was the first qualified librarian appointed to a public library service in country Victoria. She was appointed to the Ballarat library in 1946 and in 1950, under her guidance, the library became part of the Central Highlands Regional Library Service. This was one of the first regional library services in Victoria.

Margery moved to Tasmania in 1954, later working as librarian in charge of municipal library services. In 1968 she returned to Victoria as principal of the Library Training School. She was the State Library's deputy-principal librarian in 1969 and principal librarian from 1974 to 1981.

Margery died in 1998.