The Library is open Read more

Home > Interact With Us > Fellowships > Georges Mora Fellowship

Georges Mora Fellowship

Georges Mora

The Georges Mora Fellowship gives one contemporary artist the opportunity to study, experiment and explore fresh thinking in their art.

The recipient is awarded $10,000 for up to 12 months' research and given the means and uninterrupted time to work closely with the rich resources of the State Library, including access to a private study within the Library, which can be used outside normal opening hours.

Also, the Georges Mora Fellowship can help the fellow apply for a self-identified local or international residency, as well as provide access to organisations and individuals with specialist knowledge to support the artist to research, experiment and create.

The fellowship is awarded with funds generously donated by arts supporters and with the support of State Library Victoria, Alliance Française de Melbourne and other partners.

2020 program

We are pausing our Fellowships program in 2020 to look at how we can create more value for participants and the Victorian community, and greater alignment to the Library’s strategy.

We look forward to announcing details of a redesigned Fellowships program that will return in 2021.

About Georges Mora

The Georges Mora Fellowship is named after entrepreneur, restaurateur and art dealer Georges Mora. Georges was born in Germany in 1913. After World War II, he briefly settled in New York before immigrating to Melbourne, where he purchased and ran the landmark Balzac restaurant in East Melbourne and St Kilda's Tolarno Hotel. The hotel included a gallery, which was moved to South Yarra in 1979.

In his lifetime, Georges Mora was an avid supporter of the arts and Australian artists, including Charles Blackman, Arthur Boyd, Joy Hester, Sidney Nolan, John Olsen, John Perceval and Albert Tucker. Georges' commitment to developing innovative and varied artists saw him produce outstanding exhibition programs featuring local and international artists. He died in 1992.