The Public Library
Join this Vicfix campaign to take stock of the Library's formative years
Vicfix is improving the searchability of digitised newspaper articles and making the hidden details of Victoria's rich history available for everyone.
About the Public Library
The Public Library (as State Library Victoria was originally named) has long been a source of pride for Victorians. The Roman Corinthian architecture of the portico, the internal cedar furniture and fittings, the bookcases designed to hold octavo books at the top and folios and quartos below: all of it 'belonged to the people of Victoria', and was reported in admiring detail in newspapers.
Historic newspaper reports also describe the public opening of spaces like the Queen's Reading Room (now Queen's Hall) in 1859, the museum and art gallery in 1904 and the dome in 1913. Letters to the editor hold forth on a range of topics, including requests for more Irish Catholic literature in the collection, and arguments both for and against Sunday opening hours.
Contribute to this Vicfix campaign – it's easy!
- Choose an article listed below and click through to correct it on Trove (see our How-to guide).
- Add our tag 'vicfix-done' once the whole article is fixed.
- Share what you've fixed with friends and family.
- Follow us on Facebook and Twitter or subscribe to our enewsletter for Vicfix and other Library news.
Correct articles from one of our other Vicfix correction campaigns.