Join this Vicfix campaign to refurbish articles about George & George's
Vicfix is improving the searchability of digitised newspaper articles and making the hidden details of Victoria's rich history available for everyone.
About George & George's
George & George's Federal Emporium opened in Collins Street in 1883, when Melbourne was at its most marvellous. The store stocked fine clothes and accessories (mostly for women) in the newest fashions and colours, drapery and household goods. It also boasted an indoor garden cafe with an aviary, water features and live music. The store's clientele encompassed the colony's elite, tourists and homemakers; its half-yearly sales and Spring shows attracted thousands of customers.
Historic newspapers lovingly detail the store's luxurious wares, but also trace a pattern of decline beginning in the late 1880s, when a devastating fire gutted the building, and a period of depressed trading followed the premises' alteration and extension. The store later became known simply as Georges, until it closed for trading in 1995.
Contribute to this Vicfix campaign – it's easy!
- Choose an article listed below and click through to correct it on Trove (see our How-to guide).
- Add our tag 'vicfix-done' once the whole article is fixed.
- Share what you've fixed with friends and family.
- Follow us on Facebook and Twitter or subscribe to our enewsletter for Vicfix and other Library news.
Correct articles from one of our other Vicfix correction campaigns.