Join this Vicfix campaign to take off from one of Melbourne's first aerodromes
Vicfix is improving the searchability of digitised newspaper articles and making the hidden details of Victoria's rich history available for everyone.
About Essendon Airport
Essendon Airport's history goes back to 1919, when a local aero club used the area's farmland as an airfield. Then known as St Johns, the airfield became an official aerodrome in 1921 when tenants including WWI flying ace Captain HJ Larkin used its grass runways and hangars.
Contemporary reports note the visit by aviation pioneer Charles Kingsford-Smith and the reservoir that obstructed the landing ground well into the 1930s. They also capture the tussle between competing interests to locate Melbourne's main airport: would it be Fishermans Bend in Port Melbourne or the open fields of Essendon?
Contribute to this Vicfix campaign – it's easy!
- Choose an article listed below and click through to correct it on Trove (see our How-to guide).
- Add our tag 'vicfix-done' once the whole article is fixed.
- Share what you've fixed with friends and family.
- Follow us on Facebook and Twitter or subscribe to our enewsletter for Vicfix and other Library news.
Correct articles from one of our other Vicfix correction campaigns.