Dromkeen Medal

The Dromkeen Medal, initiated in 1982, is bestowed annually to an Australian resident for outstanding achievement in the creation of Australian children's and young adult literature.

The Dromkeen Medal was designed by Robert Ingpen and depicts the Dromkeen Homestead, a sickle moon and boughs of wattle. Previous Medal recipients include celebrated children's book illustrators and authors such as Alison Lester, Shaun Tan, Bronwyn Bancroft, Ruth Park, Andy Griffiths and Graeme Base.

The 2017 Dromkeen Medal was awarded to Erica Wagner, publisher of Books for Children and Young Adults at Allen & Unwin, Melbourne.

2018 Medal

Nominations for the 2018 Dromkeen Medal open on Friday 21 September and close at 5pm on Sunday 28 October. Nominations received after 28 October will not be accepted. To nominate a candidate for the 2018 Dromkeen Medal, download the nomination form (below).

The medal will be presented at State Library Victoria on 13 December 2018.

Guidelines for nominations

  • Nominees may be from any field or profession, including writing, illustration, bookselling, publishing, editing, creative education programming or voluntary work.
  • Nominators must be able to substantiate what is put forward in the nomination, including full details, photographs or other documentation in support of the application.
  • Nominations for the Dromkeen Medal must be seconded.
  • Supplementary documentation may be uploaded in support of the nomination.
  • Nominees must be Australian citizens.
  • Employees of State Library Victoria are ineligible to apply.
  • Individuals may be nominated by peers or members of the public.
  • No individual will be awarded more than once.

Selection process

Nominations are assessed by internal Library specialists against the eligibility criteria, and then provided to the Dromkeen Awards selection panel members for discussion and judging.

The selection panel consists of librarians and subject matter experts who work in the field of children's literature.

Following the selection panel meeting, the successful candidate is notified by telephone and email, and unsuccessful applicants are notified by email.

More information

Contact Gail Schmidt, Program Coordinator, at dromkeen@slv.vic.gov.au or on 03 8664 7335.