Current recipients: The R E Ross Trust Playwright's Script Development Awards

Exploring themes of madness, redemption and a grand adventure to find a pet snake, the 2014 winners of the R E Ross Trust Playwrights’ Script Development Awards are Dan William Lee, Alexandra Macalister-Bills and Dan Giovannoni & Amelia Evans. Patricia Cornelius received a commendation.

A total of 47 plays were submitted for consideration for the 2014 awards. A new judging panel of five industry experts read and shortlisted the scripts for further discussion, based on the selection criteria of artistic merit, rationale for development and planning.

The following three winning scripts and one highly commended script were chosen. In addition to receiving prize money, the winners have the opportunity to stage rehearsed readings in front of a live audience in the Flashpoint series at the State Library Victoria and fortyfivedownstairs.