State Library of Victoria > La Trobe Journal

No 79 Autumn 2007

[Back matter]


Notes on contributors

John Arnold is Director of the National Centre for Australian Studies at Monash University. Co-editor of the second volume of the history of the book in Australia, he has a long-standing interest in Melbourne publishing and bookselling history.
Shane Carmody is Director, Collections and Access at the State Library of Victoria, a position similar in scope to that held by A. B. Foxcroft. He has a family link to the Mount Lyell Mine as his great-uncle Matthew McCaughey was entombed in mine in the disaster of 1912 and subsequently rescued.
Heather Gaunt has worked as an art curator, historian and classical musician. She recently completed a Research Fellowship at the State Library of Tasmania examining the formation of the Australiana collection, and is now undertaking postgraduate research in the field of Library History.
Hilary Maddocks, who has a doctorate in Art History, is a Fellow of the School of Art History, Cinema Classics and Archaeology at the University of Melbourne.
Juliet O'Conor is Children's Research Librarian for the State Library of Victoria, and is currently writing a thesis on traditional Indigenous Australian stories for children.
Dorothy Prescott OAM retired as Map Curator of the National Library of Australia in 1983, having previously been foundation curator for the University of Ibadan Library, Nigeria, and foundation Map Curator at the University of Melbourne Library. Her present interest is in map history.
Olga Tsara is a librarian at the State Library of Victoria, who is currently on secondment from the Picture Collection to the Australian History and Literature Team.
inside back cover

The State Library of Victoria Foundation

was established in 1994 to raise funds to support the State Library of Victoria. It encourages and promotes private philanthropy and corporate sponsorship for State Library projects, including preservation of Victoria's cultural heritage, conservation of valuable collections, acquisitions of items of historical significance, and delivery of educational programs and research services to the community.
Anyone interested in the vital work of the Foundation can assist by becoming a Foundation member or donor.
Member: $65 per year (GST included)
Bookplate Donor:
Upon payment of the $65 membership fee, members are entitled to become Bookplate donors by making the following donations. Membership fee and donation may be paid as a single payment. All donations are tax deductible.
Lewin Bookplate $135 donation
Audubon Bookplate $435 donation
Gould Bookplate $935 donation
In addition to member benefits, Bookplate donors are acknowledged by special bookplates in books selected from the Library's recent acquisitions.
Membership Benefits:
  • A $25 book voucher from Reader's Feast Bookshop on becoming a Foundation member
  • Mailed copies of the State Library of Victoria News, the biannual scholarly publication, The La Trobe Journal, and periodic member newsletters
  • Discounts to Library events, and on selected Library merchandise (conditions apply)
  • Invitations to member-only events
  • Discounts on quality wine through the Ex Libris Wine Club
The Foundation reviews benefits regularly and keeps members updated. Currently discounts are being offered to Foundation members by:
Fillings Catering; Good Reading Magazine; Hopscotch Films; Mr Tulk café; Paper World’; QV Melbourne (including parking): The Hotel Windsor (Spring Street Restaurant); The Federal Publishing Company; who's your girl? catering.
For further information or to join the Foundation, telephone 03 8664 7280, email or visit the State Library website
Principal Patron: Dame Elisabeth Murdoch, AC, DBE
Executive Director: Morton Browne
Executive: Stephen Kerr (Chairman), Martin Armstrong, John Arnold, Prof. John Barnes, John Cain (President, State Library Board of Victoria), Dr Anne Colman, Andrew Coloretti, Kerry Gillespie, Gary Graco, Greg Hywood, Robert Lang, Peter Lothian, John Mortimore, David Mullaly, Maria Myers, Susie Reece Jones, Anne-Marie Schwirtlich (Chief Executive Officer and State Librarian)
back cover

In This Issue

Heather Gaunt on the remarkable library of book-collector Robert Carl Sticht; John Arnold on A. H. Spencer and the Hill of Content bookshop; Dorothy Prescott on maps of Australian interest in C. J. Visscher's 1649 atlas; Hilary Maddocks on Geofroy Tory's 1531 printed Book of Hours; Olga Tsara on Linnaeus Tripe's 1857 photograph album, Views of Burma; Juliet O'Conor on the first Indigenous Australian children's book; Shane Carmody on distinguished scholar-librarian A. B. Foxcroft of the Public Library of Melbourne.
State Library of Victoria Foundation