State Library of Victoria > La Trobe Journal

No 72 Spring 2003

[Back matter]


Notes on Contributors

John Arnold, who has had a long association with the State Library of Victoria as a member of the library staff for some years and more recently as a researcher, is Head of the School of Political and Social Inquiry at Monash University.
Philip Baigent, a director of the architectural firm Ancher Mortlock & Woolley, is the director-in-charge of the redevelopment of the State Library of Victoria.
John Barnes, Emeritus Professor of English at La Trobe University and Senior Honorary Research Associate in the School of Literary, Visual and Performance Studies (Centre for the Book) at Monash University, has been editor of The La Trobe Journal since 1998.
Sandra Burt, a librarian in the La Trobe Australian Manuscripts Collection at the State Library of Victoria, has been assistant to the editor of The La Trobe Journal since 1998.
Cathrine Harboe-Ree, formerly Director of Collections and Services at the State Library of Victoria and a member of the Editorial Committee of The La Trobe Journal, is University Librarian at Monash University
Miles Lewis AM, Professor of Architecture at the University of Melbourne, is an architectural historian with a special interest in building technology, and is the author of Two Hundred Years of Concrete in Australia. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Humanities and is Vice-President of the Comité International d'Architecture Vernaculaire.
inside back cover
was established in 1994 to raise funds for the State Library of Victoria: Australia's oldest free public library; the largest public reference and research library in Victoria, with collections that include more than one million books and journals, 90,000 newspapers and hundreds of thousands of paintings, photographs, maps, manuscripts and other materials; and the hub of the statewide library network, providing information services across Victoria. Detailed information about the resources and specialist services of the State Library of Victoria may be obtained from the Internet:
The Friends of the State Library of Victoria was founded in 1966 (and known as the Friends of the La Trobe Library until 1984), its objects being to assist, encourage and promote the interests of the State Library, by seeking sponsorship and gifts for the Library and by searching for and obtaining books, manuscripts, pictures and other library material, particularly of Australian interest. It organized lectures and other activities for members, and from 1968 published the La Trobe Library Journal. In 1997 the Friends amalgamated with the Foundation, becoming a sub-committee and continuing their traditional activities in this context.
The State Library of Victoria Foundation encourages and promotes private and corporate sponsorship for State Library of Victoria projects such as conservation of valuable collections, acquisition of items of historic significance and expanding educational and research services.
Executive Committee: Stephen Kerr (Chairman), John Arnold, John Barnes, David Bennett, Shane Carmody, John Chalmers, Anne Colman, Julie Ann Cox, John Funder, Kerry Gillespie, Elizabeth Gillies, Robert Lang, Sam Lipski AM (President, Library Board of Victoria), Maria Myers, Dorothy Pizzey AM, Kevin Quigley, Anne-Marie Swirtlich (Chief Executive Officer and State Librarian), Rosalie Vaccari, Jack Moshakis (Executive Director, State Library of Victoria Foundation).
Membership: Membership of the Foundation is open to anyone interested.
Annual subscriptions are: Members $55 (including GST)
Bronze Bookplate $155 ($55 membership and $100 donation)
Silver Bookplate $505 ($55 membership and $450 donation)
Gold Bookplate $1,005 ($55 membership and $950 donation).
Donations are tax deductible.
Membership Benefits include:
copies of the quarterly State Library of Victoria News and the bi-annual The La Trobe Journal;
invitations to keynote lectures and special functions for Members;
discounts on all State Library events and publications;
priority bookings for free Internet training at the State Library;
access to the Reader's Feast Privileged Reader Program, with exclusive opportunities to meet authors and attend special functions;
10% discount on annual subscriptions to Australian Book Review;
special member benefits through Taltarni Wines, including preferential pricing and wine tastings.
In addition, Bronze, Silver and Gold Bookplate Members are acknowledged by a special bookplates placed in books specially chosen from the Library's recent acquisitions, and have privileged access to the Library collections.
For a brochure and membership application form, contact: State Library of Victoria Foundation, 328 Swanston Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia. Telephone (03) 8664 7260 or (03) 8664 7017. Facsimile (03) 9639 4189.
Director (Jack Moshakis):
Foundation Office:
Desktop published by Ms Lee Speedy, 69 Research-Warrandyte Road, North Warrandyte, 3113 Ph: (03) 9437 0894
Printed by Ellikon Fine Printers, 384 George Street, Fitzroy, 3065. Ph: (03) 9417 3121
back cover

In This Issue:

State Librarian Anne Marie Swirtlich reflects on 150 years of the State Library; A Chronology of the State Library 1853-2003; Address of the Trustees at the Opening of the Library 1856; ‘The Pride of Melbourne’: Impressions of the Library in words and pictures; Miles Lewis on the Dome; Phil Baigent on redevelopment of the Library; Catherine Harboe-Ree on wall quotations in the La Trobe Reading Room; John Arnold on Edmund La Touche Armstrong.
State Library of Victoria Foundation