State Library of Victoria > La Trobe Journal

No 50 Spring 1992

[Back matter]


Notes On Contributors

Mimi Colligan is a Senior Research Officer with Australia Post.
Christine Downer is Pictures Librarian at the La Trobe Library.
Lurline Stuart is Research Associate at the National Centre for Australian Studies at Monash University.
Peter McNeil is in the Department of Art History, Australian National University. Brian Buckley is a Melbourne freelance writer.

The State Library of Victoria

is Victoria's major reference and research library. As well as its general collection of books, periodicals, newspapers, maps and other materials, it has a separate wing known as

The La Trobe Library

which is Victoria's chief research centre and reference library for Australian history and literature. It is the State principal repository for manuscripts, historical pictures, newspapers and other library material relating to the history of Australia and the Pacific and especially to Victoria.

Friends of The State Library of Victoria

is a society founded in 1966 and, until 1984, known as the Friends of the La Trobe Library. Its objects are to assist, encourage and promote the interests of the State Library, by seeking Sponsorship and gifts for the Library and by searching for and obtaining books, manuscripts, pictures and other library material, particularly that which is of Australian interest.
The Friends' Patrons are: The Honorable Joan Kirner, M.L.A.; The Honorable John Cain, Q.C.; The Honorable Rupert Hamer, K.C.M.G., E.D.; Margaret Carnegie, A.O., O.A.M.; and Mrs. E.M. Borrow
The Friends' Office Bearers are: President, Andrew Lemon;
Vice-president, John Arnold; Hon. Treasurer, Greville Prideaux;
Secretary, Jill Wilson
The Committee of the Friends comprises: Gail Evans; Giovanna D'Abaco; Shona Dewar; John Holroyd; Yvonne Hurley; Beverley Joyce; and Assoc. Prof. Wallace Kirsop. The Acting Director of the State Library of Victoria (Mr Derek Whitehead), the La Trobe Librarian (Miss Dianne Reilly) and the Hon. Editor (Dr Teresa Pagliaro) are ex officio members of the Committee.
New Friends will be welcomed. The annual subscription for ordinary members is $36. Bookplate membership is available at an annual subscription of $100. Concessional membership (for pensioners and full-time students) is $16 per annum. Sponsor and donor memberships are also available. Membership and other enquiries can be addressed to the Friends of the State Library of Victoria, 328 Swanston Street, Melbourne, 3000, Victoria.
Typesetting: Hazell Billington Desk Top Publishing
24 Morey Street, Burwood 3125
Printing: Trumble Printery, 254 High Street, Prahran, Victoria, 3181
inside back cover
Back Cover Illustration
Ronnie Jakamarra Lawson (c.1925-) Men 1990
Acrylic on canvas. 122 × 122 cm. (Lyttleton Gallery)
All enquiries concerning reproduction
to be directed to
Jan Martin, Lyttleton Gallery (Tel. 328 1508)
Any person copying, duplicating or reproducing this painting
in part or whole or in any form whatsoever
without first obtaining the artist's written permission
will be prosecuted
and subject to orders for damages and costs.
back cover