State Library of Victoria > La Trobe Journal

No 47 & 48 1991

[Back matter]


Notes On Contributors

John Arnold was Research Librarian at the La Trobe Library from 1983 to 1990 and is now Senior Research Fellow at the National Centre for Australian Studies, Monash University.
Frances Brown is Genealogy and Local History Librarian.
Des Cowley is La Trobe Rare Books Librarian.
John Holroyd has been a Friend of the La Trobe Library since its founding in 1966.
Tony Marshall was Manuscripts Librarian at the La Trobe Library from 1982 to 1990 and is now Manager, Tasmaniana Service, State Library of Tasmania.
Joan Maslen is Theatre Librarian.
Margaret McCormack is La Trobe Research Librarian.
Dianne Reilly is La Trobe Librarian.
Deirdre Wilmott is Newspaper Librarian.
inside back cover

The State Library of Victoria

is Victoria's major reference and research library. As well as its general collection of books, periodicals, newspapers, maps and other materials, it has a separate wing known as

The La Trobe Library

which is Victoria's chief research centre and reference library for Australian history and literature. It is the State principal repository for manuscripts, historical pictures, newspapers and other library material relating to the history of Australia and the Pacific, and especially to Victoria.

Friends of the State Library of Victoria

is a society founded in 1966 and, until 1984, known as the Friends of the La Trobe Library. Its objects are to assist, encourage and promote the interests of the State Library, by seeking sponsorship and gifts for the Library and by searching for and obtaining books, manuscripts, pictures and other library material, particularly that which is of Australian interest.
The Friend's Patrons are: The Honorable Joan Kirner, M.L.A.; The Honorable John Cain, Q.C., The Honorable Rupert Hamer, K.C.M.G., E.D.; Margaret Carnegie, A.O., O.A.M.; and Mrs.E. M. Borrow
The Friends’ Office Bearers are: President, Andrew Lemon; Vice-president, John Arnold; Hon. Treasurer, Greville Prideaux; Secretary, Jill Wilson
The Committee of the Friends comprises: Gail Evans; Giovanna D'Abaco; Mimi Colligan; John Holroyd; Yvonne Hurley; Beverley Joyce; and Wallace Kirsop. The Director of the State Library of Victoria (Mrs. Leah Mann), the La Trobe Librarian (Miss Dianne Reilly) and the Hon. Editor (Dr Teresa Pagliaro) are ex officio members of the Committee.
New Friends will be welcomed. The annual subscription for ordinary members is $36. Bookplate membership is available at an annual subscription of $100. Concessional membership (for pensioners and full-time students) is $16 per annum. Sponsor and donor memberships are also available. Membership and other enquiries can be addressed to the Friends of the State Library of Victoria, 328 Swanston Street, Melbourne, 3000, Victoria
Typesetting: R. and J. Bielicki, 10 Bryson Court, Bundoora, Victoria, 3083 Printing: Trumble Printery, 254 High Street, Prahran, Victoria, 3138
Back Cover
G.F. Gregory, H.M.S. Galatea in Hobson's Bay. Water Colour, 1868. Purchased 1975, Tristan Buesst Fund. Pictures Collection, La Trobe Library. Tristan Buesst was the First President of the Friends of the La Trobe Library.
We acknowledge with gratitude the colour cover made possible by the Mrs. Borrow fund.
back cover