State Library of Victoria > La Trobe Journal

No 44 Spring 1989

[Back matter]



For assistance in preparing this issue of the La Trobe Library Journal, thanks are due to:
  • the staff of the State Library's Conservation Department;
  • Adrian Flint, for photography;
  • Christine Waghorn, for typing; and
  • the staff of the Australian Manuscripts Collection, for putting up with it all.

The State Library of Victoria

is Victoria's major reference and research library. As well as its general collection of books, periodicals, newspapers, maps and other materials, it has a separate wing known as

The La Trobe Library

which is Victoria's chief research centre and reference library for Australian history and literature. It is the State's principal repository for manuscripts, historical pictures, newspapers and other library material relating to the history of Australia and the Pacific, and especially to Victoria.

Friends of The State Library of Victoria

is a society founded in 1966 and, until 1984, known as the Friends of the La Trobe Library. Its objects are to assist, encourage and promote the interests of the State Library, by seeking sponsorship and gifts for the Library and by searching for and obtaining books, manuscripts, pictures and other library material, particularly that which is of Australian interest.
The Friends' Patrons are The Honorable John Cain, Q.C., M.L.A.; The Honorable Sir Rupert Hamer, K.C.M.G., E.D.; The Honorable Sir Henry Bolte, G.C.M.G.; Professor R. M. Crawford, O.B.E.; Mrs. Margaret Carnegie; A.M. and Mrs. E. M. Borrow.
The Friends' office-bearers are: President, Dr. Lurline Stuart; Vice-President, Andrew Lemon; Hon. Treasurer, John Arnold; Hon. Secretary, Judy Macdonald.
The Committee of the Friends comprises: Mimi Colligan; John Holroyd; Peter Love; Ross McDonald; Marjorie Morgan; Wallace Kirsop; and Robert Littlewood. The Director of the State Library of Victoria (Mrs. Leah Mann), the State Librarian (Mrs. Jane La Scala), the La Trobe Librarian (Miss Dianne Reilly) and the Hon. Editor are ex officio members of the Committee.
New Friends will be welcomed. The annual subscription for ordinary members is $30. Bookplate membership is available at an annual subsciption of $100. Concessional membership (for pensioners and full-time students) is $12 per annum. Sponsor and donor memberships are also available. Membership and other enquires can be addressed to the Friends of the State Library of Victoria, 328 Swanston Street, Melbourne, 3000.
back cover