Catalogue service interruption: There is currently an issue with online requests. Please contact the Library if you are unable to order items online. We apologise for any inconvenience.

La Trobe Reading Room event: A traditional Chinese drum performance will be held in the La Trobe Reading Room on Thursday 4 September, from 6pm until 6.10pm. More information

Catalogue service interruption & La Trobe Reading Room event
Connect with us Facebook Twitter> Flickr Youtube

2014 Dromkeen Medal and Librarian’s Award

Wednesday 28 May 2014, 2:00pm - Monday 16 June 2014, 2:00pm
Nomination forms attached below

Nominations are now open for these prestigious national awards. The Dromkeen Medal is awarded for outstanding achievement in the creation of Australian children’s and young adult literature, while the Librarian’s Award recognises outstanding achievement in supporting Australian children’s and young adult literature.

The 2014 Dromkeen Medal and Librarian’s Award nominations are currently invited from professionals involved in:
•    writing
•    illustration
•    publishing
•    editing
•    bookselling
•    creative education programming
•    voluntary work.

Nominees may nominate themselves or others, and nominations close on Monday 16 June at 2pm.

The Dromkeen Medal and Dromkeen Librarian’s Award have a distinguished history of over 32 years, with previous Medal recipients including well-known children’s book illustrators and authors such as Shaun Tan, Bronwyn Bancroft, Roland Harvey, Ruth Park and Graeme Base. Similarly distinguished names grace the list of past winners of the Librarian’s Award.

The winners will be honoured at an Announcement Ceremony during Book Week, 16–22 August 2014.